Cheryl Ganz Is New APS President



Congratulations to Cheryl Ganz! She is the new president of the American Philatelic Society, the USA's largest stamp collecting organization. She was elected by the Board of Directors to fill the vacancy created by the resignation by Bob Zeigler. Ganz was the only nominee, and the vote was unanimous.

"I pledge to give [this office] my all," she said after her nomination. She added that the APS is in good shape and it was a great time to be leading the organization. She also noted that it is the first time that both the APS and the American Philatelic Research Library have women presidents — Melanie Rogers heads the APRL.

Dr. Ganz is a life member of the APS and chair of its Board of Vice Presidents. Her numerous philatelic honors include the Lichtenstein Medal for Distinguished Service to Philately from the Collectors Club of New York (2016), the APS' Luff Award for Exceptional Contributions to Philately (2016), and the Roll of Distinguished Philatelists of the Royal Philatelic Society London (2018).

She joined the staff of the Smithsonian's National Postal Muse[®]um in 2005 after earning her PhD in History at the University of Illinois Chicago, and from 2007 until her retirement in 2014, she was the NPM's chief philatelic curator. She currently is its "curator of philately emerita" — a title created to recognize her "significant and lasting contributions" to the museum. She also currently serves on the Citizens' Stamp Advisory Committee, which reviews stamp design nominations and makes recommendations to the Postmaster General.

Dr. Ganz lives in the Chicago area and has been active in "Chicagoland" philately for many years. Her books include The 1933 Chicago World's Fair: A Century of Progress and Every Stamp Tells a Story: The National Philatelic Collection. She wrote an article, "The Du Sable Cabin in Chicago," that appears in the April 2020 issue of Reflections.

And, Dr. Ganz is a longtime ESPER member, having joined in 2007 and recruited by the late Mani Gilyard, a past president of ESPER.